God’s plans sometimes involve no plans…

So tonight I went to go see a friend. Long story short…she didn’t want to be hacked and murdered from someone on Craigslist. Case in point: Never trust anyone on Craig’s list (have we actually known or met this “Craig”, who “supposedly” wrote a “list”?) I digress. We were having long discussions about life and passions. She had an epiphany while at a social worker conference about helping the poor and needy in a bigger way. We were discussing our dreams to help the greater good. She said I love poor people and I love working with them!! I said…that people who are less fortunate tend to have a grateful attitude and are very humble. We could learn from them. An attitude of gratitude. She said that it says in the Bible to feed and clothe the poor and needy. But we cannot fix all of their problems. And I agree with that. We can only do much for the human body, but not the soul. The rest is for God to finish the work He began. He indeed does the work and uses us to help finish it. Not completely. We are kind of the middle men(women) if you think about it. He started the work. We help in the middle. And He finishes it.

Philippians 1:6 “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

She said she would like to interact more with them. Even if that means living like them. She is willing to pick up and move wherever he wants to. Her husband is in total agreement with her. I told her that is honorable in God’s eyes. I said that most people don’t think of God as spontaneous. But he totally is!! Sometimes God will ask us to drop what we are doing and start doing what He wants us to do. I am very connected to the Holy Spirit and when He speaks to me. When he tells me to do something, I don’t question it. I know it’s Him. It could be something simple to something extremely hard! But I do it. I am at that place where I could just pick up and leave. I don’t like being too comfortable in one place. It’s kind of a dangerous place to be in. Where you are too comfortable. I don’t believe God wishes that for us. He wishes for us to be constantly moving (not always location wise). I’ll never forget when God told me…”The things that make you comfortable will eventually make you miserable”..

So true. Complacency is a dangerous thing. And then it becomes boring and mundane. I want to live life with purpose!! Not so much plans. He knows the plans He has for me. To prosper, not to harm. But to give a hope and a future. I think His plans for us don’t depend so much on actual plans. The plans are having no plans whatsoever. To just be open minded. To pick up and move. Or maybe to plant yourself in one place for a period of time. I had a “Ruth-like” moment and said. “God, where you go, I will go. Where you want to stay, I will stay.” I had this plan a long time ago, that I never followed through. I would’ve went to the Hillsong School and took up singing and worship leading. I love to worship. I live to do that. And I said..“God, I am open to doing that. To flying out of the country, going to a completely foreign place. But if you want me to stay and be rooted here, doing what I am called to do, so be it.” So far, He has not given me a sign to move anywhere. Especially out of the country. So at this moment…I feel that I am supposed to be here. I don’t know why He wants me here. Nothing has worked out the way I planned. In fact, the opposite. But you have to remember. God’s plan sometimes involves no plans. Sometimes, He just wants to equip us for the actual plans He has for us. Sorry if that is confusing. What I’m basically saying is…that He works in mysterious ways. Ways beyond our comprehension.

I want to help people. I love people of all ages. I love kids. I don’t have any. But my friends do and I am Aunt Mare to all of them. Do I long to have children some day? Absolutely. I love babies, toddlers, teenagers, adults, elderly. So here was THE plan for my life.

1. Acting

2. Singing

3. Photography

I lived in California for 4 years and never went to one audition. I really believe God took the desire away from me. Looking at it now, that world is so superficial and empty. I want no part of it. Although I do get an itch once in awhile. The singing thing…I still sing. I enjoy it. I think it is part of a ministry I will have one day. I have always wanted to be a worship leader.  I love photography!! A dream of mine would be to just travel around, live out of my car, drive to wherever I could take great pictures. Photographers seems so carefree and they really are visionaries.

I gave up on the arts a long while ago. I still have those qualities and do express them on a daily basis, but not to make money. I am talking WAYYYY too much here. My point is…we can have our own dreams. But when we put down our dreams and let God’s dreams become ours and we are in sync and align with His will…that is where we will find true happiness. I haven’t reached that point yet. I hope to one day. I keep praying and praying for the day where I discover what He put me on this Earth to do. I think it is this:

1. Love God with all my heart, soul, and mind

2. Love others with the same love He has shown me.

Leave a Reply

