hey boy…

I thought it was a funny take on the “hey girl” that is ever so popular. I went on Pinterest to find several comedic pins that made me smile. The last few days, my mind has taken a different turn. I have had thoughts of marriage and dating. A friend of mine, who has a huge following and is a fellow blogger like myself, has publicly written a letter to her future husband and daughter. It has inspired me to do the same. So hard to put all of my thoughts on virtual paper. This is a person I have been waiting for my whole life. How would I convey my feelings? I will give it a whirl.

To My Future Husband: 

I can’t wait to meet you. I mean, I can. But…it is not the easiest thing to do. However, it is something I have been doing for years. I sometimes picture what you look like in my head. And also this picture that God has given me of you. While I do things in my daily life, I wonder what you are doing. Who you are with? What makes you smile? All these questions bounce in my head. I look forward to the day our eyes lock. It may not be a fairy tale to every one. But to me it will be. Of course, I won’t let you know this right away. 😉 My heart has been hurt before. I have been burned by men in the past. But…in some odd way, I thank them. Because that heartbreak is one of the steps I had to walk through in order to find you. I am that much grateful to be with you. I have had nights full of tears. And then full of joy. Because I knew this day would come. I just believed it in my heart. God has been taking care of me and my heart a long time. So that it would be ready to experience this adventure with you. In the meantime, I am growing into the woman you need me to be. I’m sure once we join in our union, that I will still be growing. I want to be the best I can for you. I promise you I will remain virtuous in all that I am. I promise to keep praying for you. I don’t know if distance has separated us, but I know that God will make a way for us to meet. I am taking care of myself and fighting every day for hope. I also know it is not in vain. I am not the most adventurous. But I am sure that meeting you, dating you and being engaged to you will be an adventure. I know we will have fights and moments of sadness where we feel like giving up. But I will not give you up, no matter what. God has been preparing both of us for each other. And I hope to be the warrior woman you need me to be in times of sorrow and joy. I look forward to the day where we create a life together. Another life. A beautiful baby. That is a display of our love and God’s love for us. I am not perfect, nor do I expect you to be. 

I can’t wait to get to know you. I can’t wait to hear of your passions and dreams. I can’t wait to have long conversations about faith, politics, family. I can’t wait for you to meet my friends. I can’t wait to have double dates with them. I can’t wait to take pictures of our experiences. I will be shouting my love from the rooftops for you. Like I said, I am not adventurous. But I am willing to go outside of my comfort zone and take on new challenges. I hope we can one day write songs together. I hope we can get inside each other’s heads and inside each other’s worlds. Even as I write this letter, it fills me with tears of hope. When I think of you, I smile. 

I hope you are safe. I hope you are keeping yourself pure. And even if you are not right now, there is grace. I will not judge you by your past. I will love you for all the days of my life and if I’ll keep my hand on your heart and your heart on mine. 

For forever more and always more, 

Mare

Leave a Reply

