Selfie…or Self Approval??

It seems the more and more I get connected to social media and networking, the more disconnected I would rather be to it. I just want to separate my world with God from the world I live in. The world I live in is full of perversion, lasciviousness, and pure selfishness. The world I cohabitate in cares more about tricks into looking slim, young and ending up in someone’s bed than character development. Or the latest trend. And here is how we end up with selfies. It’s a way of saying look at me without actually saying it. Because that would be prideful. Gasp! Selfies are the new self esteem in my world. It is sad. That the way we project ourselves is through a picture. And the more likes and comments we get, the more we feel good about ourselves?? And then we worship ourselves and thrive on the next comment from someone we may or may not know. I am guilty of this. I am guilty of falling into this trap.

Not only selfies, but the entangled web of social media. Facebook. Instagram. Snapchat. MySpace. Twitter. Pinterest ( double guilty)We are obsessed with finding someone or something to fill that void that only God can fill.

My world vs. My world with God. My world with God is full of peace and tranquility. It is full of joy and love. When I get alone with Him, I imagine myself laying in the fields full of flowers and trees as far as the eye can see. It involves no cameras. No waist cinches. No mirrors. The only way I see myself is through His eyes. Not someone else’s. There is no likes to click on. There is even no technology. Just me, my voice and His. I don’t have to always worry about how I look. I don’t have to worry about anything.

Recently, I took about 4 days off of Facebook and Twitter. I tried to stay off Pinterest. But that didn’t happen. (It’s like a shopping addiction except I never buy anything) Anyways, I felt free. I didn’t feel like I needed approval from anyone. Let’s admit it. We’ve all “liked” someone’s picture, quote, or Buzzfeed link in hopes they would like us back or be our friend. Or write a comment, thinking the favor would be returned. I’ll admit I’ve done it. But it doesn’t always happen that way. And it saddens me when I think of how I let someone else’s opinion instead of God control me. I will no longer do this. And unless there is a an actual transformation, no one needs to see.

I don’t want to make myself an object of someone’s worship. I want God to be the center of where all worship should be. That is why my ultimate passion is to lead others to that same God centered worship. He should be the center of the world, not ourselves. Whatever you objectify, you glorify. So next time any one of us take a “selfie”, ‘re-examine why. Are you doing this to seek attention from others? Self approval? You may find it temporarily. But the only one you should be seeking approval from is God. If you don’t know Him personally, get to know Him. When you find Him and live for Him, you will end up “mirroring” what He sees. Not what others see.

I have said this to myself recently and now I’m saying it to you. Not to lecture. But to learn what I am learning.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

