It is for freedom you set us free…

Today represents one of the most notorious days. The Day of Independence. I have many things to be grateful about being independent. But…also I celebrate dependence on other things.

For one thing, I am grateful for the men and women who fight for this country. I am thankful for the people who stand in the line of fire and sacrifice time with their families so that I can be with mine in peace.

Secondly, I am grateful for independence from others. I am independent from having to please the opinions of others. To be independent from the ways of the world I live in. To be independent from obligations. To be independent of the word yes. I have learned I should not say yes to everything.

Most importantly, I am grateful for my dependence on God. My heavenly Father. I am grateful that I can still and will always depend on Him to supply all my needs. To supply the endurance of my heart struggles. To supply me with people who love and support me. To supply the love, patience and faith that will help me stand for all of my days.

Don’t get me wrong. I love and give my utmost respect for what our soldiers and heroes did for this country. But the very first soldier to lay his life down for me died thousands of years ago. His name is Jesus Christ. He stood in the line of fire for me. He stood in the gap for me. He died a brutal death. But I am also grateful that he didn’t stay in the grave. He rose and is still my soldier, fighting for me. Fighting for life for me.

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. -Galatians 5:1

IF you are still enslaved in the idea that you have to do what everyone says or think the way they do, I challenge you this. Say goodbye to the dependence of that. Depend on God and God alone. Don’t let anyone put a yoke around your neck. And don’t let anyone but God’s Word dictate to you in the way you should live. Say no to the dependence of others. Say yes to the independence of others. Say yes to the dependence of God.

Unfortunately, slavery still exists. Our country has moved forward in ways. But still backwards in other ways. Children, men, and women are enslaved. Pray for them. Don’t turn your head the other way. Because it only takes one person to free another. That little voice in your head you can only ignore for so long. If you are free, try to free someone else. And don’t take advantage of the breath and life you have.

Happy 4th everyone.

Stay strong and stay warriors!!

<——–Singularsongstress—-+

Leave a Reply

