Who/What Reigns Over You?

Some of you who have read my past blogs know that I started reading the Old Testament in the beginning of the year. I have tried to keep up with it as much as I can. I’ll admit a few books were hard to get through. But…I am really enjoying it. I am in the book of 1 Samuel. I read about 5 chapters and something stood out and spoke to me. Samuel, had appointed a king.

A quick synopsis. Samuel was the high priest in that day. He was getting older and appointed his sons to judge Israel. They were not fit to be judges. They were acting out and living in sinful ways. So the elders got together and told Samuel that he was too old and they didn’t like his sons to be judging since they had quite the bad reputation. Make us a king. This hurt Samuel. And he prayed and God told him that they aren’t rejecting him. They were rejecting God. Anyways, he appointed Saul to be their king and warned them of the consequences if they didn’t turn back to God. 

Skipping down to chapter 12, Samuel gave them the big speech, reminding them of what God had done for them. That he had delivered them from Egypt. Out of slavery. Out of the oppression of other kings. Out of the hands of their enemies. And still…after all of that, they wanted a king of their own. 

And when you saw that Nahash king of the Ammonites came against you, you said to me, “No, but a king shall reign over us”, when the Lord your God was your king. -1 Samuel 12:12

It was a slap in the face to God, their Father. The one who they kept disrespecting and rebelled against. Even after their constant rebellion, He delivered them. The part that got me was “No, but a king shall reign over us”. I received revelation. So many times, I myself included, look for another king. Another thing or person to fill the void of God which only leads to disappointment and emptiness. 

Recently, I had been chasing a dream. I felt convicted. Because I felt like chasing the dream more than Him. So many times we wish for something other than God to reign over us “when the Lord God should be king”. This could be in the form of relationships, the pursuit of a dream, friendships, etc. When God stops being King in our lives, something else is replacing him. Something else takes the scepter in our lives. When we replace Him, it ruins us. It turns into disappointment, shame and regret. 

It could even be a good thing. It could be a spiritual thing. A ministry. A person. No matter what it is, if it replaces God, it has the ability to reign over you. It can control you. You can become a slave to it.

When God is King, he reigns over my life instead of my life reigning over me. When God reigns inside my heart, my heart doesn’t reign over me. When God reigns over my thoughts and words, my thoughts and words don’t reign over me. When God reigns my emotions, my emotions won’t reign over me. When God reigns over my future, my future doesn’t reign over me. 

When we allow Him to reign and Him only, it releases us from the stress of control we had. We are no longer enslaved to our thoughts, desires, emotions, words, feelings. We are released from the burdened of reigning. “With great power comes great responsibility.” That is true. When we have the power, we are stressed. We are worrisome. We are fearful. Because we don’t really deserve that power. Only God does. When we release the “reins”, we can live in peace and faith. 

Does this mean we never make a decision? Definitely not. We do have to make decisions. BUT….we need to include Him greatly in making those decisions. Just like if you were married, you wouldn’t make a huge purchase or take a huge chance without including your spouse, right? God wants to be involved in EVERY aspect of our life. Big and small. I like giving Him the power. Because I know I can’t handle it and I mess up. I don’t always know what is best for me. But God does. He is my Father. He knows how I was made. He knows what I’m equipped for and what I am able to handle. And the same goes for you. 

If you are dealing with a difficult decision, I challenge you to pray about it first. Pray and include God. You may not get an answer you want or even an answer at all. But…if you are open to hearing and listening to what He tells you, then you will be better off in the long run and might prevent yourself from making a decision with major consequences. 

Leave a Reply

