5 Stones

In the book of 1 Samuel, it takes me through the beginning passages of David’s life. I love David. He fascinates me. His character in the beginning. He was just a shepherd. But God saw something greater in Him. He saw leadership. He saw kingship. He was a man of courage. He was not the tallest of his kind. But..he was tall in his heart. Skipping ahead, he encountered the biggest Philistine during that time. A man named Goliath. Goliath was prideful, boastful, and ultra confident in himself. But he was also a Pagan. He did not believe in God or anything relating to Him. What he had in stature, he lacked in spirit.  On the other hand, what David lacked in stature, he had such strength in His heart. He was confident in his God and loyal. 

Goliath challenged anyone to come up against him. 

Why have you come out to line up for battle? Am I not a Philistine, and you the servants of Saul? Choose a man for yourselves, and let him come down to me. If he is able to fight with me and kill me, then we will be your servants. But if I prevail against him and kill him, then you shall be our servants and serve us. And the Philistine said, “I defy the armies of Israel this day; give me a man, that we may fight together.”  -1 Samuel 17: 8-10

 

It reminds of of a scene that is out of Gladiator or something. I love that movie. Maximus reminds me of what I think David would have been like. A man of integrity and honor. Someone who faced adversity and still held onto hope that he would overcome. And he did. Well, like, Maximus, David faced a challenge. He wasn’t really looking for one. He was back home with his father, Jesse, to take share of the sheep. His father sent him back to bring food to his brothers and things for Saul when he overhead Goliath say: 

And the Philistine said, “I defy the armies of Israel this day; give me a man, that we may fight together.”

 

David heard Goliath talk smack about Israel as well as the name of His God and thought…I’m up for the challenge. Who does this guy think He is?  He told Saul he wanted to fight him. “Let no man’s heart fail because of him; your servant will go and ight this Philistine.” And said said to David, “You are not able to go against this Philistine to right with him; for you are a youth and he a man of war from his youth.” 

David tried to convince him saying that he had already killed a lino and a bear that tried to attack his sheep. And he was pretty confident he could do the same to Goliath. So Saul gave in. He put armor on David, that frankly didn’t fit and was too heavy. David took the armor off, took a staff, and gathered 5 stones and a slingshot. To the eyes of disbelief, no way would this work? Goliath was three times bigger than David and David would kill him with 5 little stones? However, the strength and spirit of the Lord was upon David and it wasn’t upon Goliath. David actually killed Goliath and beheaded him. As I read those chapters, a few more times. God put something in my spirit. A lesson. All it took was 5 stones to kill his enemy. Oftentimes, we are attacked by an enemy. The main enemy. The devil. Satan. He uses people to do it. How do we combat him? Just like David, we use our 5 stones. 

I prayed, “God, what are these 5 stones?” And he showed me. 

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. Forgiveness. Unforgiveness toward someone enslaves us. We are tied to that person(s). When Goliath said if anyone were to step up to his challenge and defeat him, He would be their servant. When you choose to forgive that person or person(s), you are throwing a rock at Satan’s head. He can’t put a hold on you. You are no longer a servant to them or what they said or did to you. You become freer.

2. Confidence. There is nothing more annoying to the devil than when you are confident in yourself and in God. David exercised confidence by saying that he would destroy the Philistine and feed his flesh to the birds. And he was confident that God would fight the battle for him. He knew God was on his side. Confidence and trust go hand in hand.

3. Speaking the Word.  Remember when the devil “tried” to tempt Jesus in the wilderness? And he said “Man shall not live by bread alone. But by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of God.” Mind you, Jesus had not eaten in days when he spoke that. However, he gained strength from speaking the Word. Read the Bible more and more. Let it get inside you and become a part of your lips. Your words that you speak should emanate Christ.

4, Strength. How do you get strength? “The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.”-Psalm 28:7. We get our strength from God himself. You know that thing that you didn’t think you would get through and no one else was around? That was God who gave you the strength to endure. That was God who held your hand. That was God who gave you the breath to keep fighting. You have more strength than you think. Hold onto Him and you will keep your strength. 

5. Humility. As I mentioned before, David was small in stature. I’m sure he was made fun and looked down on. They probably looked at him and chuckled when they heard he wanted to fight Goliath. I’m sure at one time or another, we were laughed at. People pointed at the finger and said…they can’t do that. Look at him/her. Goliath took one look at David and probably thought to himself, “Who is this little troll that wants to fight me???” David could have said,,,”How dare you! I may be small and young, but…” I think his stature kept him humble. Don’t look down on your shortcomings. Let them keep you leveled. Sometimes our flaws keep us humble. You can humble and confident at the same time. Don’t let your flaws keep you down. Don’t let your weight keep you down. Don’t let your freckles define you. You are capable of doing anything with the strength of Christ inside you!!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So next time, the devil throws something at you this week or next week, carry your 5 stones with you. Right now, I am fighting battles with people at my job. But I will not let it stop me from doing what God called me to do. I will not let it break me or change me. I will walk in forgiveness, confidence that God is who He says who He is and trusting in that, speaking Scripture to combat whatever words or actions are thrown at me, gaining strength in my trust in God, and staying humble. You can do this too! I know it’s easier to give advice or encouragement when I am not battling anything. I find it insincere when people do that. But I am in the trenches with you. I am facing battles every day. So I am not speaking through my own strength. I am speaking through His. This is my prayer for you.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

God, whatever me and my followers are facing, I pray you will give us strength to keep fighting. We may feel like giving up. We may feel like everyone is against us. But I pray we will find your arms comforting us and holding us. I pray that you will let us forgive people who have done us wrong. Who have spoken evil against us. Who have wished us harm. I pray that you will speak death to those words that torture us. That you will speak truth into our hearts and our minds. That you will reign in us and rule with all your glory. I pray for strength to help us keep fighting. For battles we are facing. And battles that lie ahead. We are overcomers with you by our side!!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If you are struggling with something and need prayer, don’t hesitate to email me with your requests. 

Maramor_24@yahoo.com 

Stay strong and keep fighting. And don’t forget to let God fight with you and for you! He is fighting for you even now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

