Alien in A Celebrity World

When I was a little girl, all I wanted was to be famous. To be an actress. To be well known. To declare a name for myself. I used to watch so many television shows and movies. I used to mimic scenes for people to entertain them. I was in a few plays. It was everything I wanted to be and more. I wanted the limelight. I wanted the fame. And now that I’m older, that feeling fades more and more. Instead, I am an alien in a celebrity loving world. I am ok with that. I am ok with not having my public life seen in the tabloids. And I am ok with not compromising everything I believe in. All that glitters isn’t gold. My gold rests in who I belong to. Whose child I am. I am a child of the King and He shines through me. Celebrities never get rest. Aliens do. I am proud to be an alien. I am honored to be in God’s world. I am honored to belong to him.

Would you rather be a celebrity or an alien? Aliens are different. Celebrities are becoming more common. Aliens have different skin. Celebrities look the same. Aliens have a different language. Celebrities have scripts they rehearse. Celebrities keep up appearances. Aliens are hardly seen as much. What is the point of comparison? The ones who are kept are mostly hidden. We are like treasures in a closed chest. So, yes you are giving up making a name for yourself in order to keep His name sparkling. It is a sacrifice for me to forfeit the pursuit of acting and singing. But just as Francesca Battistelli’s song says “I don’t need my name in lights, I’m famous in my Father’s eyes. Make no mistake, He knows my name.” God has a way of making us feel special. Even if it’s not publicly known. We should not live for the applause of men/women. We should live for the sake of Jesus. I would rather be an unknown alien than a well known celebrity. That life can be unsatisfying. We weren’t made to be glorified ourselves. We were made to bring glory to the King of Glory.

On another note, I am continuing my pursuit of writing my book. I could write all day if I didn’t have obligations or responsibilities. But…I find that when I do, I pray on what to write and how to write. If it doesn’t come from my heart or is not led by the Holy Spirit, it is not going to be on paper.

Take care loves,

-M

Leave a Reply

