Thankful

I was in the shower, in full worship mode. For some reason, when I am near water, something rises in my spirit and makes me feel alive. Anyways..I was singing. Just two words over and over. Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

The more and more I walk in this life, the more thankful I become. I had nothing in the beginning of the year. I was jobless, penniless, friend-less. I was trying to save money when I had very little. I sacrificed even more than I had. I’m not saying this to brag. I’m just letting you know I was in a bad place. And I had given up on hope and on myself. And that lack of hope…if I can be frank…was seeping into my relationship with God. Little did I know, God was working behind the scenes.

Behind the scenes of my heartbreak. BUT….came forth a vision. A vision to start writing again. To write a book. To work at a hospital. To help the lost and brokenhearted.

And for that…I am truly thankful. He had turned everything around in due time. I am thankful for the new experiences. The new journeys. The new church I will find. The new people I will meet at my job. The new. I am thankful for the new. I am thankful for His grace. I am thankful for His provision. I am thankful for the gift of salvation. I am thankful to have hands, arms, legs, feet. I am thankful that I have a voice, to be heard and used for His glory. I am thankful that I didn’t get the things I thought I wanted. I am thankful for the adventures I have with Jesus. Knowing Him is the best adventure you will ever experience.

You could climb the highest mountain and yet nothing could compare to holy ground. When I spend time with Him, I feel like I can fly. I feel like I am fearless. I feel like I will always be in His shadow of protection, His mighty wings. I feel like I am seeing more beauty in Him. Seeing Him in different ways. He is the best friend I’ve ever had. He is my King and I long to please Him. 

I used to envy people when they had relationships with each other because I’ve never had one. But…I will say this. If people knew what I have with God, they would envy my relationship. And they should. Everyone should know God the way I know Him. That does sound boastful, but it is true.

Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him

Leave a Reply

