“You Need To Fight Harder!”

I had the oddest dream last night. I had a dream that Sylvester Stallone was my father. And he wanted to train me to be a fighter. (Rocky flashback) Anyways, I had worked really hard and I started fighting. I don’t think I was fighting anyone, because the dream didn’t show a person. I think I was fighting inanimate objects. I don’t know. But I know I was fighting hard. I came home that night, bruised and bloodied. My mother, who was Italian(not in real life though :p) was cleaning me up. She was helping heal my bruises and wiping the blood off my face.

My father, Stallone, came home and saw my face. He was talking to my mother. He came up to me and said, “You didn’t fight hard enough. You need to fight harder.” I was so mad as well as my mother. She said, “Look at her! She has bruises! She could have been killed.” He said again, “You need to fight harder.” I walked away from him. He tried to put his hand on my shoulder. But I said, “Don’t touch me!” And I left. I came back a day later, and I had really been damaged. I had pieces of glass in my back. Huge shards that were wedged in. I know it was a dream, but I cringed as if I could really feel that glass. My dad felt sorry for me. He tried to help me. He took out some pliers, had me stand against the wall and said, “I have to do this and it’s going to hurt.” He was going to use the pliers and rip the glass out. I woke up before I felt anything.

This dream, as odd as it is, spoke to me. I have been fighting. Not just people. Myself. Fighting my thoughts. Fighting situations. And from that, I have been bruised and blooded. Like that dream, I just wanted my dad to feel sorry for me. I have been wanting God to feel sorry for me. To just hug me and tell me things I want to hear. But he hasn’t done that. I then, in turn, change my attitude toward him. Just like in the dream. “Don’t touch me!” You are supposed to bandage me up and tell me I’m ok and to lay low. But no. He wants to toughen me up. He wants me to keep fighting. And when I get the crap beat out of me, He will tend to my wounds.

Why am I sharing this? Because at one time or another, we have experienced the struggle to give up. We have had our hearts broken. We have had situations where we have felt we can no longer go on. We feel like just laying low after taking a beating. We also want sympathy. But sometimes instead of sympathy, we need to man up and get back in the ring. (Fighter analogy, I know).

You might be a situation where people are hurting you. Not just physically. But emotionally. Maybe your family abandoned you. Maybe your friends have left you behind. Or have been removed from your life. Maybe your bills are piling up and you are so behind you don’t think you can ever catch up. Life keeps throwing punches and you feel like giving up. Instead of giving up, get back up. Keep fighting. Do not give up. More importantly, don’t give up on God. He has been watching you from beginning of time. He has been looking out for you. Even when you weren’t. Even when no one else was. He will heal your wounds. He is a loving God. If you have pieces of glass that are stuck in your back, with his loving hands, He will remove them. And sometimes He won’t say what you want to hear because He wants you to find the strength through Him to keep fighting.

Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses-1 Timothy 6:12

Blessed be the Lord, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle;-Psalm 144:1

Don’t give up! Surrendering seems like the easy thing to do. But when you do that, you are saying it’s ok to treat me this way. I deserve to live in fear. I deserve to live in pain. And no one deserves to live a life away from the Father’s love. The only time surrender is acceptable is when your give your life to Jesus.

Don’t listen to the voices that want to destroy you. Listen to the voice that says this:

I pulled you in from all over the world,
    called you in from every dark corner of the earth,
Telling you, ‘You’re my servant, serving on my side.
    I’ve picked you. I haven’t dropped you.’
Don’t panic. I’m with you.
    There’s no need to fear for I’m your God.
I’ll give you strength. I’ll help you.
    I’ll hold you steady, keep a firm grip on you.-Isaiah 41:10 MSG

Keep fighting, friends!! ❤

Leave a Reply

