172022964001202

Everywhere I look, there is someone saying this word. Tolerant. I could have sworn I blogged about this already. (Oh well.)

tol·er·ant
ˈtäl(ə)rənt/
adjective
  1. 1.
    showing willingness to allow the existence of opinions or behavior that one does not necessarily agree with.

Let me say something about tolerance. Tolerance is not a justification for sin. People that spew out this word all the time are either ashamed of what they are doing and don’t want to be judged for it. Or….they just want you to look the other way.

Now, I am a Christian. So apparently that makes me an intolerant person. Because I disagree with a lot of things. According to God’s Word…there is a lot I cannot turn my head from. But just because I am a Christian does not mean I am not exempt from sin. I sin. My sins are not different in compare with other people’s. However…I don’t wish people to be tolerant of my sin. I want them to call me out on it. I don’t want them to look the other way if I’m about to fall off of a cliff. I want them to help me keep from falling.

Yes, it may hurt. Yes it may sting. But I would rather be right with God than thinking I am right because I am saved by grace. God’s grace is extended to us to keep us from the punishment of sin. Grace is not a license to keep sinning. Grace is not meant to be taken advantage of. 

People that live their lives however they wish and expect no judgement or punishment are setting themselves up for a big fall. It is a part of life. If you ride a bike carelessly, you might end up in a ditch and scrape your knee. Same thing goes for life. If you live carelessly, without any rules, a wake up call might be headed your way. God does not do this to punish us. But to save us. Save us from death and save us from free spirited thinking that will lead us to hell.

Tolerance is misused and misunderstood. If you are killing yourself, I’m not going to look the other way. Now, it’s up to you to make your decisions. However…don’t expect me to be ok with whatever you choose. Why is it that tolerance is one sided? I have to tolerate your thinking but you can’t tolerate mine. Or you have tolerate how I believe but I won’t listen to your beliefs. I will allow you to have your opinion and respect it. You should respect and listen to mine. This is why there is division in the world. Because people put tolerance in a box and use it do whatever they want to do. And when they are caught, they take it out of the box and say something like “You need to be tolerant.”

I’m sorry. Jesus Christ was anything but a tolerant person. He called people out on their sin. He called religious people “vipers”. He flipped a table over because He was angry. Jesus did not just smile and say…I’ll allow it this time. But next time, you better watch it. No. He said, “Go and sin no more.” That was an act of mercy. But he did not turn his head the other way. In fact, He was in their face and told them what’s what. He stood up in righteous indignation for what He believed in. He was crucified for what He believed in. And He did it so that we could also be righteous, by choice. Choice.

We should not keep making bad choices and say “Don’t judge me.” Because wake up. You will be judged. We all will be judged someday. You won’t be able to “tolerate” your way into or out of heaven. You are either a yes or no person. There is no gray area with sin. Sin is sin. No degree is bigger than the other. None of us are exempt from sin. If there is something you are doing and you think it is ok and acceptable, show me a Scripture in the Bible that says that. If you can’t find it, it’s not ok and it is not acceptable in God’s eyes.

Think of your choices. What you choose today can affect your tomorrow, the next day and possibly the rest of your life. You have free will. Use it wisely. Don’t use it too freely and expect grace to bail you out. That is not the purpose of grace. I don’t want to ever be tolerant of sin and if that ever happens, I am in serious trouble. God is not tolerant of sin and He is not silent about it.

Leave a Reply

