Your Faith Will Carry You

I was reading the book of Acts about Paul tonight and something popped into my head. I was remembering the story where a man needed to be healed and his friends had carried him down to see Jesus.

And some men were carrying on a bed a man who was paralyzed; and they were trying to bring him in and to set him down in front of Him. 19But not finding any way to bring him in because of the crowd, they went up on the roof and let him down through the tiles with his stretcher, into the middle of the crowd, in front of Jesus. 20Seeing their faith, He said, “Friend, your sins are forgiven you.”

As I was remembering this story, the Holy Spirit spoke something to me. He said, “Your faith will carry you.” I am going through a rough time in my life. I guess what you would call a depressive state. For months at a time, I will not leave my house. I basically stay at home, watch tv sometimes and write. I’ll listen to music or look at my friends lives on Instagram or Facebook.

I don’t have any constant friendships. Only casual ones. I have shut myself away from the world and from people. I am lacking trust in humanity right now. There was a recent experience in which I was hurt by a group of people. Every time, it takes a little piece of my heart. And I shut down. I put on a good act at home and at work as if nothing is wrong.

But I should confess that I am dealing with depression. I am a Christian and I believe God can pull me out of this pit I threw myself in. At the same time, it’s still something to deal with. Something prescription pills can’t help. (I have never taken any of those.) People don’t understand me either. They keep saying, you have to get out there and be active. It’s hard to do when you are going through a struggle. I can’t turn the on/off switch.

That being said, I think he told me “My faith will carry you” because He is allowing me to press through. I was praying one morning in my car and I said, “God, I can’t help it. I am depressed. I don’t really have any reason to be.” And He once again gave me that Scripture.

We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair.-2 Corinthians 4:8

I am holding onto His Word. I am holding onto my faith. My faith is in Jesus. I have faith that He will rip this out of me completely. I believe He can do anything. I believe His stripes can heal me. Believing in it is one thing. Walking in it is another. It requires action and faith at the same time. I am going to force myself to do things that I don’t want to but need to do. This attack will be fought with Jesus at my side. He is leading in the battle. I have to put my shield of faith up and keep standing in my armor.

If you are dealing with depression, you can combat it with speaking the words of the Bible over your heart and mind. Ask God to start a healing and recovery that will last. Pills only masquerade the pain. The love of a Father who sent His son to die for you will not masquerade the pain. It will take it away completely. That doesn’t mean that it goes away by your own power. But by His.

Hold onto to these Scriptures during the struggle.

Isaiah 41:10-So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Psalm 118:5-In my distress I prayed to the LORD, and the LORD answered me and set me free.

And hold onto the people who are willing to carry you to the feet of Jesus. Your faith will carry you. Hold onto Jesus with everything you have. He can be your everything in the middle of your something. 

Leave a Reply

